New Requirements for Off-Highway Vehicles
New Mexico has new requirements for off-highway vehicles. These requirements were passed by the legislature and signed by Governor Bill Richardson in 2005. They become law in January 2006. They are designed to protect the safety of all New Mexicans and to ensure responsible and sensitive OHV use. Here are some highlights:
Riders: As of January 1, 2006, all riders under the age of 18 must wear a helmet and protective eyewear. They must also have adult supervision, unless they have taken an approved safety course, received their OHV safety permit, and in certain cases have a valid license. In addition, no rider under 18 may carry a passenger, even on OHVs specifically designed for two persons. Riders under the age of 10 must have parental supervision and ride OHVs that are age and size appropriate.
Vehicles: All OHVs must be registered and user fees must be paid. The fee will be deposited into a Trail Safety Fund and spent on promoting safety, law enforcement, New Mexico’s OHV opportunities, and a system of dedicated OHV trails throughout the state. Unless you are registered in another state, the law requires a 90 day temporary registration available at Game and Fish and Tourism Department offices. Vehicles will require USFS approved spark arrestors. The new legal noise limit is 96dB. Your OHV will require a headlight and taillight if you plan to ride at night.
All riders, regardless of age, cannot ride under the influence of drugs or alcohol. There is a 10 MPH speed limit within 200 feet of a business, person, horseback rider or occupied dwelling. OHVs may not be operated on any paved street or highway, except to cross a street or highway after coming to a complete stop and yielding to traffic.
General Information: Any business selling OHVs will be required to register with the Motor Vehicle Department. An OHV Advisory Board will be appointed to adopt regulations and policies
( Courtesy New Mexico Tourism Dept.)